Guide: Our governance

Worker Co-op Council

The Worker Co-operative Council shapes strategic priorities for worker co-operative and employee owned members of Co-operatives UK, and acts as a sounding board on important issues.

The council meets four times a year and is elected by and from worker co-op members. The Council in turn nominates two representatives to the main Board of Co-operatives UK.

The election process for the Worker Co-op Council has almost concluded, with four seats up for grabs. The deadline for submitting nomination forms exired on 15 April 2019 with six candidates put forward. The voting window closed on Friday, June 7 with results to be announced shortly. Contact John Atherton for more information.

The results of the 2018 election to the Worker Co-op Council were announced at the Co-operatives UK AGM on 18 May (2018). Four worker co-op members contested the election with three seats on the Council available. Results:

Ross Hodgson (re-elected, nominated by Suma)
Mike Rudge (first term, nominated by Delta-T Devices)
Sion Whellens (re-elected, nominated by Calverts)  

Michael Adaarewa, nominated by G53 Cooperative Society, was the unsuccessful candidate.

Worker Co-operative Council members

  • Ross Hodgson – Suma (elected to Board of Directors)
  • Lucy Humphrey – Leading Lives
  • Ieva Padagaite - Blake House Filmmakers Co-operative (co-opted)
  • Mike Rudge - Delta-T Devices
  • Britta Werner – Unicorn Grocery (elected to Board of Directors)
  • Sion Whellens – Calverts
  • Aaron Hirtenstein - Agile Collective
  • Kayleigh Walsh - Outlandish Co-operative

Get involved

Any worker co-op member can stand for election to the Council. If you are interested get in touch

We have a vibrant groups on Facebook and Loomio for worker co-op news and discussion. Not a member of Co-operatives UK? Join us and help promote co-ops and decent work.